General Incorporated Association The Japan Poets Club  Japanese

HOME Introduction of the Club President's Message  Trustees Overseas Members 
Statement & Demand Successive Presidents & D.G.s Prize Winners   Publications Archives Access

Introduction of the Japan Poets Club Inc. and our history

  The Japan Poets Club was founded in May 1950 with 65 members. The first president of the Club was Yaso Saijo.
  Since then, the objective of the Club has remained unchanged: to promote the development of poetry and poetics and the
enrichment of Japanese language, and the mutual communication among the poets not only in Japan but also all over the world.
  The prospect is: to contribute to the development of Japanese culture and of peace in the world. The Club now has 912 members
including many of Japan’s outstanding poets.
  In 2020, we will commemorate the 70th anniversary of its foundation and will hold the main event of celebration on the 14th of Nov. in Tokyo, and even in Kansai area a little bit later. Now the executive committee was organized with 83 club members to start up the various kind of plans.

  The activities of the Club cover a very wide range: publishing journals and anthologies, organizing monthly lectures with specialists, poetry school workshops, annual poetry festivals in various districts of Japan, and poetry and art exhibitions. The big annual event is the International Day. So far the Club has invited many overseas poets from the US, China, Korea, Germany, Nederlands, Mexico, India and Jamaica in the Caribbean. The Club confers three awards every year to the best writers of the year: The Japan Poets Club Award for the best poetry collection of the year, The Japan Poets Club Debut Award, and The Japan Poets Club Studies Award for the best paper on poets and poetry.

 Successive Presidents and Director Generals
                                                                 Some of our Pioneers
AD (Japanese Calender) President Director General
 Yaso Saijo

Godo Nakahishi 


Yutaka Kadota

famous as a Lyricist

 1950 (Showa 25)      Yaso Saijo
 1952 (Showa 27)      Yaso Saijo
 1956 (Showa 31)      Yaso Saijo
 1964 (Showa 39)      Yaso Saijo      Makoto Sangu 
 1965 (Showa 40)      Yaso Saijo      Oyo Masatomi 
 1966 (Showa 41)      Yaso Saijo       Minoru Toyota 
 1968 (Showa 43)      Yaso Saijo       Yoshika Hattori
 1970 (Showa 45)      Godo Nakanishi      Chunosuke Abe
 1972 (Showa 47)      Chunosuke Abe       Yutaka Kadota 
 1975 (Showa 50)      Chunosuke Abe       Hikozo Egashira 
 1977 (Showa 52)      Hikozo Eto       Kiyohiko Furukawa 
 1979 (Showa 54)      Hikozo Eto       Kiyohiko Furukawa
 1981 (Showa 56)      Hikozo Eto      Kiyohiko Furukawa
 1983 (Showa 58)      Futabako Saijo        Koshu Nishioka
 1985 (Showa 60)      Fumio Ide       Shinji Kakei 
 1987 (Showa 62)      Tadashi Satsuma       Koshu Nishioka 
1989 (Heisei 1 )      Sadayoshi Horiguchi       Koshu Nishioka
1991 (Heisei 3 )      Hiroshi Terada       Shinji Kakei
1993 (Heisei 5 )      Koshu Nishioka      Takeshi Ishihara
1995 (Heisei 7 )      Takeshi Ishihara      Fujio Nakamura
1997 (Heisei 9 )      Shinji Kakei       Binkou Suzuki
1999 (Heisei 11)      Wataru Takahashi       Binko Suzuki
2000 (Heisei 12)      Binko Suzuki       Fujio Nakamura 
2001 (Heisei 13)      Itsuo Amahiko       Fujio Nakamura
2003 (Heisei 15)      Katsuhisa Amahiko      Mishiko Harada
2005 (Heisei 17)      Fujio Nakamura       Junko Kitaoka
2007 (Heisei 19)      Takashi Sakuma       Junko Kitaoka 
2009 (Heisei 21)      Kazunari Hiruma       Yutaka Hosono 
2011 (Heisei 23)      Shigeru Shimizu       Yoshikatsu Kawanago
2013 (Heisei 25)      Yutaka Hosono      Yoshikatsu Kawanago
2015 (Heisei 27)      Kazuyuki Takeshi       Masataka Ohta 
2017 (Heisei 29)       Yoshikatsu Kawanago             Masaki Nagao 
2019 (Reiwa 1)       Junko Kitaoka        Kenichi Sasoh 

 The List of the Three Prize Winners

To get detailed information, please enter to the link page of each list below (but being under the constraction)
The Japan Poets Club Award
the 1st (1968)~the 52th (2019)
The Japan Poets Club Debut Awards
the 1st (1991)~the 29th (2019)
The Japan Poets Club Studies Award
the 1st (2001)~the 19th (2019)

[Top [Top Page]
1999 The Japan Poets Club Inc., all rights reserved